12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2010 1:45 PM by Shane P

Stability

Shane P Level 3

Hello,

I am a current Premiere Pro user. Actually like mostly everybody here, I have been a Premiere user since viersion 5 or so (going back to 1999) I believe. I am currently running a custom box with Win Vista and Master Collection CS4. The box has the basic Vista 64 bit Home Premium OS with all applicable updates and the Master Collection, 8GB Ram, etc. Its a pretty good system, certainly not  the best nor the worst. It has no other software except for Globalscape's CuteFTP Pro. I use it strictly as a work station and am religious about not going on the internet with it at all. It has a network connection strictly for transferring files to and from.

I built this system in March 2009 and with regular maintenance it has been rock solid except for....you guessed it....Premiere Pro and Media Encoder. DW, FL, FW, PS, IL, ID and SB all pretty much run without a hiccup. Once in a great while AE may hang up but usually corrrects itself. 99% of the issues I encounter are with Premiere and Media Encoder. I know there are probabably a zillion different reasons, configurations, etc that can be talked about until blue in the face.

I am going to build a new system in the next month or so and I am really torn on which direction to go. As much as I truly LOVE Adobe (and I do) I am growing increasingly frustrated with Premiere's instability issues. Adobe seems to spend more time working on hot new features and pumping out newer versions of the software than really addressing core stability issues, I'm sure I'm completely wrong but from my perspective that is how it appears.

As I said I am going to be building a new system soon, or I should say, upgrading I suppose. I have read many many posts in here about the Mac vs PC, Premiere vs FCP, etc. I am not looking to start a heated thread by any means but would love the opinions from my fellow community.