7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2010 10:06 AM by sciulli999

Slow rendering

volondo Level 1

Hi,

Im new to CS5 and having much fun with it. I have a question though. When it comes to rendering, it can be very slow, especially when linking sequences. My CPU usage stays under 50%.

My specs are as follows

Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

CPU Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz

RAM 4GB

Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512GB

System Model    XFX Nforce 680i LT

Drive C: local fixed disk. not compressed. NTFS. 500GB (400GB free) Volume S/N: 94A3CFB0

Drive E: ext hard drive. not compressed. NTFS. 1TB (900GB free) Volume name
      : Elements. Volume S/N 68E84C3B.

CD-ROM/DVD-Writer.

Any ideas what it could be? I am aware that RAM needs upgrading.

• 1. Re: Slow rendering
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Start with your disks. Two internal 7200 disks is aboslute minimum, better more. Externals are only usable if they are eSATA. USB is not suitable for editing. Then upgrade memory, CPU and video card.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Slow rendering
            thenoisystuff Level 1

Not sure whether your HDDs are the issue when it comes to rendering!!  I see you have not specified the format you are working with (HD???) but can't think of a decent Sata HDD on the planet that is totally incapable of keeping up with Adobe renders. (Previewing smoothly in real time might be a different proposition.)

Might your RAM be the problem? CS5 is true 64bit.  Basically it puts its tongue out at anything below 8Gb despite minimum spec disclaimers and even then it gets a bit picky and choosy.  By your own admission this would seem to be your system's weak point.  Your CPU is mid table in terms of grunt but this alone shouldn't affect things too much.Your GFX card is not MPE compatible so this will also ultimately limit performance - but it's not a project killer.