12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2010 10:05 AM by docwisdom

Reusing popup AS code...passing variables?

docwisdom

Disclaimer. I am new to flex and it has been years since I have done AS. I am pretty much piecing things together with example code.

What I am hung up on right now is I have this AS code for a popup application called "newTicket.mxml"

private function openWindow():void { var login:newTicket=newTicket(PopUpManager.createPopUp(this, newTicket , true) as spark.components.TitleWindow); login.x=77.5; login.y=150; }

with this MXML call

s:Button id="myButton2" label="Search KB" click="openWindow(searchKB);" x="255" y="0"

This is great for invoking just the "newTicket" application, but I want to be able to reuse the AS code for multiple popups instead of hard coding for each application to be opened.

soooooo

how can I pass an MXML application name like click="openWindow(searchKB);"

thanks!

• 1. Re: Reusing popup AS code...passing variables?
          jsd99 Level 3

You can't pass anything except an event in the click handler.  You could create a subclass of Button that takes an extra parameter, and then reference it via the event.currentTarget... so it would look something like

<comp:MyButton windowToOpen="newTicket" click="openWindow(event)" label="Search KB />

then in the click handler you could reference event.currentTarget.windowToOpen to get "newTicket".

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Reusing popup AS code...passing variables?
            docwisdom Level 1

I really hate being an AS noob (or returning noob)

I tried working with what you recommended but I just cant get the syntax right no matter what I do.