4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2010 7:56 AM by the_wine_snob

Newbie Question - pink "mask" over preview pane???

Shotan

This could well be a very dumb question but I''m a complete novice with Premiere Elements!!!

I intalled on my first PC and all was fine except that the processor was too slow, giving very jittery previews etc. I deactivated, uninstalled and set up PE again on my second much faster machine (dual core 3.4GHz). The install was fine BUT I am seeing a pale red semi opaque "mask" on the preview screen. Is this some setting that I have mistakenly switched on, the sign of an improperly activated install, a failure to delete the serial number from my first install, or some known glitch? Rendering produces a perfect movie but trying to edit with this thing obscuring the screen is hard!!! I've tried every setting I can find but still no go. I've downloaded the patch for 8.01, checked all Windows updates are ok  but still the same.

Any advice would be really welcome guys. Thanks in hope, Paul (UK)

• 1. Re: Newbie Question - pink "mask" over preview pane???
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

We'll need to know more before we can help, Shotan.

Like what kind of camcorder your video came from and how you got it into your computer.

It also might help to know which operating system you're using.

Meantime, go to the nVidia or ATI site and download the latest firmware for your video card. This often resolves this issue. Although it can also be affected by certain video formats.

• 2. Re: Newbie Question - pink "mask" over preview pane???
            Shotan Level 1

Hi Steve

Thanks for replying, I hope I can be a bit more helpful with info this time! I'm a designer so technical matters are not a strength I'm afraid!

here is some information and 2 screenshots of the problem I am seeing.

screenshot1.jpg

screenshot2.jpg

Microsoft Windows XP Professional with all security patches and up-dates

Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600