4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2010 1:52 AM by Gregor.Kiddie

SWC access problem

miquael Level 1

I'm new to using Flash Builder and SWCs (tho have used the Flash IDE for 12+ years), and am still getting a handle on setting up a Flex/Flash Builder project and incorporating SWCs.  Although I've already been thru several tutorials on setting up a project and incorporating SWCs, I have this problem: while I can see the contents of the SWC in the Package Explorer window, I'm not able to access the contents in the main view.  When I click on an item of the SWC, I get this error message:

"Code Navigation Error

Source code could not be found for com.client.subfolder.ClassExample in /Users/mac/projects/client/com/swc/projectframework.swc."

What am I missing here?

The SWC has been properly imported, I can see it in the Package Explorer window, and all of it's contents are listed ...

Is it possible to access, view, and edit the source of the SWC?

thanks ...

• 1. Re: SWC access problem
          Jason San Jose Adobe Employee

You have to associate the SWC with a source attachment since the SWC file format does not include source or a path to source. To do this, the SWC needs to be explicitly added to the library path:

1) Project > Properties > Flex Library Build Path

2) Add SWC...

3) Click on the added SWC and select "Source attachment"

4) Specify the path to the root source folder for the SWC

Jason San Jose

Software Engineer, Flash Builder

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: SWC access problem
            JeffryHouser Level 4

Do you have the source for the SWC you're using?

If your SWC is created as a library project in the same Flash Builder workspace, you should have no problem viewing the source of the code inside the SWC.