1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 24, 2010 1:50 PM by jareed123

cross-browser compatible flash embedding in html5

maple-leaf

I am a newbie with flash with less than a year of experience and this is my first post in this forum.

I recntly converted my web site from xhtml1.1 to html5 and when it came to flash I was a bit stumped.

Then the light came on, why not use html5's new and powerful JavaScript engine and I did.

I was able to use JavaScript to embed the flash object which tested with IE8, FF3.6.4, Safari 5.0, Opera 10.53, SeaMonkey 2.4, Chrome 5,6 and maxthin 2.5 & 3.0.

I wanted also to keep away from making a http call for swfobject and use the html5 enviornment.

Therefore, I used the following and placing the JavaScript function within the <head>..</head> tags just above the <body> tag.

My web site is multi-lingual currently with/for English and German with French and Spanish to follow; the html5 used is simple and it W3C validates it as html5.

Using the english version this was placed within the head tags

<script>

//<![CDATA[

document.write('<object width="100%" height="100%"  type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="english.swf"  >');

document.write('<param name="classid"  value="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" />');

document.write('<param name="pluginurl" value="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,24"  />');

document.write('<param name="movie" value="english.swf"  />');

document.write('<param name="quality" value="best" />');

document.write('<param name="menu" value="false" />');

document.write('<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"  />');

document.write('<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain"  />');

document.write('<param name="bgcolor" value="#000000"  />');

document.write('<param name="scale" value="noscale"  />');

document.write('<param name="wmode" value="window" />');

document.write('</object>');

//]]>

</script>