2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2010 4:22 PM by the_wine_snob

Need help using a lower third graphic in PRE 8.0...

danrwoods

Hello All and Thank You For Your Attention,

I am a rookie with PSE and PRE 8.0. I have done a lot of photo editing and video editing, but with Microsoft Photodraw and Cyberlink Power Suite respectively. I have a project in PSE that I would like to use lower third graphics to introduce speakers to the audience. I created a lower third graphic in PSE 8.0, I think I have saved it right (TIFF). I tried to use the lower third graphic in PRE and it added it as a new scene to the project and not an overlay. What happened? What part did I leave out in the saving or importing process that I can't get the lower third graphic to overlay on top of the video scene in PRE? The background to the graphic is transparent if you need to know.

Please help I am stuck here. I would like to get this process nailed down before I start experimenting with other features of PRE and PSE 8.0. Would eventually like to have animated or video lower thirds. Is this step not in the realm of PRE or PSE?

Just curious,

-Dan

• 1. Re: Need help using a lower third graphic in PRE 8.0...
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

First, I always use .PSD's (when Save_As from PS, and PSE is the same), as it easily includes Transparency. TIFF supports Transparency, but I find that .PSD's cannot be beaten. You will want to Import your still graphic into the Project (think you've done this), and then just drag that graphic to an upper Video Track, say Video Track 2, when your Clips are on Video Track 1. This will Import with the Duration set in Edit>Preferences>General, but it does not really matter for just one, or a few, as you can click-drag on the Tail to extend the Duration, as is required.