9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2010 2:06 PM by tom_servo3000

Unfamiliar ActionScript

tom_servo3000

Hi guys,

I've recently been given a canned Flash template from which I'm supposed to build a site off of for a friend/client.  I studied some AS2 a while back but most recently AS3.  Anyway, this Flash template has AS scattered all over the place and I'm not exactly sure what some of it does exactly and/or if it might be AS1.

I was hoping that someone could help me decifer what some of the following code does as well as what version of AS it is so I can either work with it or wipe it out and re-script.

onClipEvent(load) {....}

onClipEvent(enterFrame){...}

_root.soundStatus = "on";

_root.mySound = new Sound(_level0);

if (_root.soundStatus=="on"){step=5}

on(releaseOutside, rollOut) {gotoAndPlay(20-_currentframe);}

unloadMovieNum(2);

Any and all help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

David

• 1. Re: Unfamiliar ActionScript
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

onClipEvent(load) {....}  // code that executes when this movieclip loads

onClipEvent(enterFrame){...}  // code that repeatedly executes

_root.soundStatus = "on";   // a variable on the _root timeline, soundStatus, is assigned "on"

_root.mySound = new Sound(_level0);  // a sound instance, _root.mySound, is initialized

if (_root.soundStatus=="on"){step=5}  // if _root.soundStatus is = to "on", assign the variable step to be 5

on(releaseOutside, rollOut) {gotoAndPlay(20-_currentframe);}  // on releaseouside or rollout, goto and play that frame

unloadMovieNum(2);  // unload the swf loaded into _level2

• 2. Re: Unfamiliar ActionScript
            tom_servo3000 Level 1

You rock, kglad!  Thanks.

2 questions:

Do these methods fall under ActionScript 1 or 2?

Can I mix different versions of ActionScript in a single file?

Thanks again!

-David

• 3. Re: Unfamiliar ActionScript

you can mix as1 and as2 (but neither can be used with as3).