4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 26, 2010 10:37 AM by rashmin.d

Unable to get some objects to Garbage Collected

WeeJavaDude

We are starting to do some memory analysis and I am running into an issue where my objects don't appear to be GC'ed.   I have used the profiler and have gotten the objects down to where there appears to be no references left.   Here is some info about the objects in hopes it will provide some clues as to why perhaps my objects are not being reclaimed.   Given I am new to Flex memory profiling I am not even sure if they should be.

1)  The objects are created as local variables in a function and passed into another object that holds a reference.

2)  I have a function that gets called that cleans up the objects by calling dispose on the parent objects,  nulling all references to the objects,  and clears out any arrays that contained the objects..

3)  The Object References window shows no references (See below object ID 426971)

memleak.png

So my questions are.

1) The main object where these objects are being created lives for the life of the application.   Should I expect that objects created within the main object that have no references to hang around until the application gets into a memory constraint situation and then GC these objects?

2)  For Objects that don't appear to have any references to them,  is there something else I need to be looking at to assure they get freed when GC comes around.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions the community my have.

• 1. Re: Unable to get some objects to Garbage Collected
          rashmin.d

hi...WeeJavaDude

on the basis of your mess. For take care of GC of your Objects...

you have to consider 1) all reference should null to that Objects..

2) U should disp. them by calling from parent.

3) Most important is u have to remove all event Listener from that Object... becoz of event life cycle if event listener is still there then it will live untill appli. end...