5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 27, 2007 9:52 AM by Newsgroup_User

ViewStack External File Cannot Access AS Script

scooter5791 Level 1
      Hello,

I am very new to both Flexbuilder and Actionscript so I am going to need some help please. I have a main mxml file that contains a ViewStack as well as an external AS file. The problem is that I am using external mxml files for the ViewStack that need to call functions in the external AS script file which is included in the main mxml. I am gettting compiler errors in these external mxml files (Call to possibly undefined method ) because they cannot access the external AS functions since this file is included only in the main mxml.

Everything worked great when I had all the code in one main file, but I am trying to get a handle on separating the AS code from the mxml code as well as trying to use external mxml modules in the ViewStack. Can someone give me some pointers how to successfully separate everything and make it work?

Thanks in advance...

Scott
        • 1. Re: ViewStack External File Cannot Access AS Script
          scooter5791 Level 1
          Ok, I figured it out. In the external mxml module I needed to call the AS functions using the parrentApplication prefix (scope?) such as:

<mx:Button ...{normal attribute here} ... click="parentApplication.myFunction()" />

This allows the compiler to know where the actual function code resides.

Is this the preferred way to do this or are there other things I should be aware of? Thanks as always.

Scott
          • 2. Re: ViewStack External File Cannot Access AS Script
            Level 7

"scooter5791" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
            news:fak7qt$7vp$1@forums.macromedia.com...
            > Ok, I figured it out. In the external mxml module I needed to call the AS
            > functions using the parrentApplication prefix (scope?) such as:
            >
            > <mx:Button ...{normal attribute here} ...