Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Hulu playback terrible.

Jun 26, 2010 Jun 26, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

After the latest update the other day, Hulu plays horribly on my pc (1-2fps if at all, audio seems near normal). I am running IE7 and Windows 7 x64. I tried to install Firefox, same results. I also updated my nvidia drivers to latest beta on thier site, uninstalled flash using the uninstaller, reinstalled flash. Uninstalled an old program I have called Rivatuner which caused this problem for me one other time due to some protected memory i/o ports. I fix computers for a living and cannot fix the playback on Hulu.com. The video plays so terribly, its unwatchable. Task Manager says IE7 is using  1.2gb ram and 25% of my quad core Phenom 2.2ghz, so probable 1 core. The videos take 30+ seconds to load and the ads are even choppy. Turning off hardware acceleration doesn't help. I uninstalled firefox. I have not installed anything on the pc this week to make it change from Monday when I was watching ABC shows on Hulu. Please help me or tell me how I can downgrade Flash to last version that was fine.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I had the same problem with Hulu. I downloaded the Hulu desktop player, and I am having no more problems. The things I tried first:

Uninstall and reinstall flash (with the correct installers).

Uninstall and reinstall firefox.

System restore to before the update that caused the problem.

None of these things worked.

The hulu player is fairly intuitive and easy to use. It doesn't take long to download. I hope this solves your problem. If you are like me, you have no cable, and Hulu has been great for you. I did e-mail Hulu about the issue.

Votes