12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2010 2:03 PM by the_wine_snob

CS5 HD Exporting for Facebook Without Loosing Quality

Wilder169

Hey guys,

I'm new to Adobe Forums and I'm not the sharpest at Adobe Premiere but I have been using it for years. Recently I upgraded my Camcorder to a Sony HDR-CX110 Handycam, its format is 1920x1080, 30 fps, HD 1080p, MTS raw file. I've tried numerous ways of exporting and have uploaded to Facebook only to find the video become choppy and not smooth, with less quality. I did however find one format that played excellent but the file size was not to bad, but big enough to only allow 10mins video to be uploaded without any flashy effects. I'd problay get around 8mins with alot of effects. My old MiniDV Camcorder could export files at half the size but it isn't HD allowing me up to 20mins of Video. I understand HD has to be a bigger file where its a better picture but there has to be a way to get the file size smaller with almost the same quality. Any help with this would be great! Thank you.

• 1. Re: CS5 HD Exporting for Facebook Without Loosing Quality
          shooternz Level 6

Just so you know...applying effects to your movie does not add to the eventual size of the file once exported.

There is no way that a computer on the Internet  can stream video as if it were playing back from your camera (for example).

It is streamed from heavily compressed files.  This means a quality loss.

So what you are looking for is a "compromise" that will take trial and error to achieve based on some known presets that work.

So...What are the specs for a movie upload to FaceBook ? (and I presume it streams from there)

• 2. Re: CS5 HD Exporting for Facebook Without Loosing Quality
            Wilder169 Level 1