28 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2016 6:27 AM by quesadillacreamer

How to vectorize a bitmap image (photograph)

daniel_laks

I'm working on a couple of children books for a client (from taking the pictures to postprocessing). One of the books is a "water book" (the sort of platic books children can take into the bathtub with them). For this specific book, the client is asking for vectorized images. I've never done such a thing before (convert a photograph to a vector image of it). I would very much appreciate any help on this. My first guess is to place the image in illustrator and then use whatever function there to vectorize it. But I don't know if that is the best way to go. I have seen some examples of similar "water books" and the images are a bit poor looking, so I guess they don't want a perfect rendition of the original, but I would still like to know what's the best way to go with this to obtain the best possible results within the given limits. Is Illustrator the best way to go? And if so, what is the regular procedure? Or are there other, more specialized software tools to do this? 

Just FYI, and in case this extra info helps, every page of this "water book" will have a picture of a sort of muppet surrounded by some empty space in the page. The pictures are originally raws, 12 MP, so I can convert them to whatever it takes (TIFF, PSD, JPG or whatever) before converting them into vector images.

Oh, and I'm using CS4

Thanks a lot in advance!

Daniel

• 1. Re: How to vectorize a bitmap image (photograph)
          stevenvh504 Level 1

I'm using CS5; I'm not sure if it is the same under CS4.