2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2010 3:53 PM by talbot

Need help moving text

talbot Level 1

Using CS4 on Win7 Pro. My client bought a template that has a flash piece and I am a total novice in Flash but I do know that you edit the FLA file and export it as a movie. So I opened the FLA file and I'm able to edit the text (all that I want to do right now) but some of the text I'm replacing is longer than the original so it gets hidden under a replay button and some is shorter and is spaced too far away from the replay button (I also want to change the color of that and I think I can figure that one out). There is plenty of room to the left for the text to move to as the original file does have varying lengths of text and it does adjust for that but I can't figure out how to change it for what I've done (I haven't received the final text yet so this is a practice run)... I changed the text by going to the timeline and selecting text from the icon (Edit Symbols) in the upper right of the screen. But where do I tell it where the text should start or how wide it needs to be? I tried moving them individually in the timeline but that didn't change it.

Here's the file: http://do-rightweb.com/fertility/flash/header_vJT.fla (I only want to leave this up temporarily because it is huge. The test location of the file in action is here: http://do-rightweb.com/fertility/

In the future I may have to swap out some of the images leaving the transitions which I think I can do by adding them as a layer deleting the ones I'm replacing...

So if anyone can lend a hand in helping me figure out how to adjust the text width I would be totally jacked! Any help and advice about swapping images or changing colors would be greatly appreciated too. Or even a link to a video to help me understand how to reverse engineer this would be cool.

Thanks in advance for your help and assistance!

• 1. Re: Need help moving text
          learn n leverage Level 3

Hi,