5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 22, 2010 8:38 AM by Aareses

Configuration Recommendations

Aareses

Hello!

I work in Healthcare IT and am a training director for alpine skiing in the winter (I train the ski instructors at our mountain).  I really enjoy recording video and editing it and want to seriously get into it, but have run into major limitations with my current hardware.  I purchased several components today in order to build a powerful machine to edit video, game, and store data.  I am using a Canon HF S11 (AVCHD) to record skiers/instructors for movement analysis and cool skiing videos!  I have about 100GB of AVCHD footage from recent events in our divsion and want to create a professional video.  I also use video for our family...we just had our first child and she is a DOLL!

The new machine I am building will be used for:

1. Editing with Premiere Pro CS5 and other Master Collection CS5 applications.

2. Gaming, such as MMORPGs in raiding situations.

3. Redundant and reliable storage. Basically a NAS on my network (including DLNA connections).

4. My primary machine!

I have the following components that will arrive next week:

• Lian Li PC-A77F Tower
      • Asus P6X58D Premium Motherboard
      • Corsair HX CMPSU-1000HX (1000w) Power Supply
      • Intel Core i7-980x Extreme Edition Gulftown Processor
      • Corsair Dominator 12GB (6 x 2) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Memory
      • EVGA GeForce GTX 480 (Fermi) Superclocked Video Card
      • Crucial Real SSD C300 2.5 inch SATA 6GB/s (256GB)
      • 6 x Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB @ 7200RPM SATA 3GB/s Hard Drive (7200.11). 
      • Lite-On 12x Blu-ray Burner 3D
      • Windows 7 Ultimate x64
      • CyberPower Professional Series 1500VA, 1000w UPS

These Seagate drives weren't my first choice, but I already owned several and Newegg was selling cheap.  I have fortunately not had a failure yet in approx. nine months on my RAID1 set (knock on wood).