12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2010 11:53 PM by gingold

GTX 470, The Hack, MPE vs Software FX: Tint, Noise, Gaussian Blur, Opacity, Fast Color Corrector

gingold

Hey there

Just been checking out MPE using the Hack with my GTX 470.

I've updated to latest NVIDIA drivers and PPro versions (258.69 and 5.0.1).

I've been A-B comparing the MPE (GPU) effects to MPE(Software) effects and I am seeing some quite different results for exactly the same effects settings.

Some of the differences are quite subtle, but once multiple effects are stacked up (even on a single video clip) they can become really pronounced.

So far I've A-B'd Opacity, Tint, Noise, Guassian Blur and the Fast Color Corrector. On my system all of these are slightly different when rendered on the GPU. Mostly it's not too different, and you could probably just go, "Oh, it's a different feel, but pretty much the same" - as a programmer I have some idea that translating CPU rendered algorithms to CUDA/Shader code is going to alter the look of the effects to some extent. But once I start stacking the effects up it becomes far more obvious.

Below are two stills of a single video clip with:

Opacity at 50%

Fast Color Correction (Hue Angle 113%),

Tint (Black Mapped to #146F89, White Mapped to #BD1717) and

Noise (100%)

The one on the left is MPE software only, the one on the right is MPE GPU...the worst offender is actually the Noise effect, although once it starts to interact with the Tint and FCC it produces a completely different thing!!

MPEBugs.jpg

I'm wondering if this is a GTX 470 quirk? (fingers crossed it's not ;-)

Can anyone using using either certified (GTX 285, Quadra 3xxx, 4xxx) or un-certified (GTX 480) graphics cards confirm if they get similiar results?

• 1. Re: GTX 470, The Hack, MPE vs Software FX: Tint, Noise, Gaussian Blur, Opacity, Fast Color Corrector
          Jim_Simon Level 8