8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2010 10:40 AM by Muppet Mark-QAl63s

Trying to use Applescript to save for web

Roger Sawhill Level 1

I am fairly new to Applescript and have been getting frustrated trying to build a script that:

1) converts a PDF to pixels

2) flattens the image

3) saves the image via Save for Web (JPEG, quality 60)

4) saves the file to the Desktop using the original file name

I have managed the first two, but am totally stumped on the last two. Currently my script is:

set XXres to 85

tell application "Adobe Photoshop CS4"
          set XXfile to choose file with prompt "Open file to be edited"
          open XXfile as PDF with options {class:PDF open options, mode:RGB, resolution:XXres, use antialias:true, page:1, constrain proportions:true}
          delay 1
          flatten current document
      end tell

All my attempts and online searches for samples have produced negative results, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Roger

• 1. Re: Trying to use Applescript to save for web
          Muppet Mark-QAl63s Level 4

I have the Trial version of CS5 and don't have the time to fix it's AppleScript Issues (Im mostly trying to learn JavaScript instead) So this is NOT tested but I would expect you syntax to go like this…

set XXres to 85
          --
          tell application "Adobe Photoshop CS5"
               set XXfile to choose file with prompt "Open file to be edited"
               open XXfile as PDF with options ¬
                    {class:PDF open options, mode:RGB, resolution:XXres, use antialias:true, page:1, constrain proportions:true}
               delay 1
               tell current document
                    set Doc_Name to name
                    flatten
                    set SFW_Options to {web format:JPEG, quality:60, with profile:false}
                    set SFW_Path to (path to desktop as text) & Doc_Name
                    export in file SFW_Path as save for web with options SFW_Options