6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2010 6:30 AM by Steve Grisetti

Some serious help needed please

my menace

My system:  Toshiba Satellite windows 7 32 bit, intel core2 duo, 2gb of ram, 225 gb of free space on main HDD

I'm new to adobe premiere so please be kind, I recently installed Premiere Elements 4 on my Toshiba laptop, I'm running Windows 7 and I can't use Premiere for more than 3 minutes at a time without it crashing, it won't render videos without crashing and it just generally won't do anything without crashing.  I need some help trying to figure this out, I've tried and tried and can't find any help anywhere so I'll turn to you guys.

• 1. Re: Some serious help needed please
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Assuming you've got all of the Windows Updates (including the non-critical ones) and you've got the latest version of Quicktime from Apple.com, your problems are most likely related to your source video.

What type of camcorder are you getting your video from and how did you get it onto your computer?

Meantime, to help get you up and running, I've created a series of free Basic Training for Premiere Elements tutorials for videomaker support site Muvipix.com. I've also got more advanced tutorials and books available on Muvipix.com and Amazon that will help you with further training.

• 2. Re: Some serious help needed please
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Are you running in XP compatibility mode?

Are you Administrator so the program has FULL access to the hardware?

Use the FREE http://www.headbands.com/gspot/ to determine the CODEC inside your file

• 3. Re: Some serious help needed please
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.