7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2010 12:42 PM by the_wine_snob

Why do I have to transcode twice?

Gary Agoura

I am new to Premiere CS5 and Encore CS5.  I have an 18 minute video, so I did the "Adobe Dynamic Link" > Send to Encore.  I then did a build which did a transcode that took about 15 minutes or so, then it created the DVD.  Took out the DVD and played it on the TV and everything looked cool.

I then wanted to make a copy of the DVD so I tried with NERO to copy.  Got a read error.  I then tried to load the Encore project to burn a new DVD.  Nothing exists so I have to start the process all over.

Why can't I save the transcoded info so I don't have to do the whole process all over again?  I know I'm missing something but I don't even know where to start.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Why do I have to transcode twice?
          Jim_Simon Level 8

Why can't I save the transcoded info

You can, if you save the Encore project.  Seems like you didn't do that, though.

• 2. Re: Why do I have to transcode twice?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

If one does the additional "copies" when doing the initial Burn, there is no need to Transcode but once. If one later revisits the Project, then it WILL be Transcoded again. I am not sure what the deal is, but Encore does not keep track of the initial Transcode files, after you have done that first burn. You do not even need to close the Project/program, just do 2 DVD's, one at a time. I am a bit surprised, that Adobe has not linked better to those Transcode files, but it's been that way for a pretty long time. Might just be a weakness in the Sonic AuthorCore, on which En is built - might not be an Adobe issues at all?

If Nero could not do the copy, there are at least two possible reasons for this:

1.) a weakness in Nero - instead, use the free burning utility, ImgBurn, to do the DVD to DVD Copy