0 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2010 9:57 AM by johnnyphive78

AIR noob needs help with encrypted db & multiple users / access levels

johnnyphive78

Background:

I am an independent web developer/designer, trying to create a desktop AIR app with an encrypted local database.  In reading some of Adobe's support documents, though, I've come to what I think might be a big problem, given my goals for the app, and I'd love if someone with more experience/knowledge could let me know if I'm right (that it's a problem), and potentially offer solutions (if they exist), or point me in the right direction!

I also tend to write waaaay more than necessary, so please feel free to skip down to the red highlighted text!

My skill level

I'm not sure how to classify my skill/knowledge level, as I'm a learn-as-I-go-as-needed kind of guy - so while I know how to do certain things really well, I don't have a solid foundational understanding of programming, and there are big gaps in my knowledge.  I work mostly in code, but do use things like Dreamweaver's built-in server behaviours for stuff I'd have no idea how to code from scratch (and then I tinker with the generated code, as necessary).

What I'm using

So far in my tinkerings, I've been using Dreamweaver CS5 with html, php, and javascript to write the app's interface (haven't started on the database yet).  On advice from other forum members, I'm planning on using AIR's integrated support for encrypted SQLite dbs for the app's data stuff.  Finally, I use DW's AIR plugin to package the app as a .air file.

The Goal: