34 Replies Latest reply: Feb 15, 2013 9:36 AM by davidmacy RSS

Alignment / Snapping Problems in CS5 Illustrator

bjheinley

I'm experiencing what I considerable a major issue in CS5 where I have points and lines that are, apparently, snapping to some unknown grid or point.

It's most noticeable when I'm working on an illustration, and then I scale it down.. all of a sudden things get wonky.

I'm a longtime illustrator user and am pretty familiar with the ins and outs of these functions... just wondering if something has changed in CS5 or if anyone else has experienced this... and obviously looking for a solution. Thanks!

BJ Heinley

howdy@heinley.com

Screen shot 2010-07-07 at 12.57.54 PM.pngScreen shot 2010-07-07 at 12.58.18 PM.png

• 1. Re: Alignment / Snapping Problems in CS5 Illustrator
          Eric Livingston Community Member

Having the same problem - was trying to align a vertical line with the center point in a circle - the closest I could get the line to the center poitn was approx 1 pixel up and 1 pixel left. I've never experienced a precision problem like this in Adobe products before - very strange. Tried changing keyboard increments and transparency grid resolution ot see if anything would change it. If I make the circle and line larger, it works OK. Also, when scaling things down, they now become slightly out of alignment.

Screen shot 2010-07-07 at 2.46.56 PM.png

• 2. Re: Alignment / Snapping Problems in CS5 Illustrator
            Jesseham Community Member

Is "view -> snap to grid" turned on or is "align new objects to pixel grid" (in the flyout menu of the transform panel) checked?

• 3. Re: Alignment / Snapping Problems in CS5 Illustrator
              bjheinley Community Member

This might have worked ..

--»  Align new objects to pixel grid" (in the flyout menu of the transform panel)

... I'm going to do some further tests this evening, but I just did a quick one and it seemed to do the trick!