4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2010 5:46 AM by JETalmage

Modify a font in illustrator

Shorrtty

Hey everyone.   I imagine there is a simple solution to my question......however I'm just learning illustrator and am having some issues.   I am creating a vinyl wall decal just using text. I'm trying to duplicate the font found on a wine label but I believe the "e" in the attached pic is modified and not an existing font.  I can't seem to get it to look proper.  Any suggestions on how I can do this. 

Shot3.jpg

• 1. Re: Modify a font in illustrator
          Larry G. Schneider Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Find a suitable font using something like http://new.myfonts.com/WhatTheFont/. Set your text and then outline the result. Then change the e to look like you want.

• 2. Re: Modify a font in illustrator
            Shorrtty Level 1

thanks Larry

I did find a font very close using the link you provided.  I had tried "creating outlines" and modifying the font myself but couldn't get it to look right.  I was hoping there was a alternative solution.  I'll have to keep trying.

thanks again

• 3. Re: Modify a font in illustrator
              Larry G. Schneider Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Try using the image you used above as a guide. Place it on Layer 1 in a new document, Lock the layer. Make a new layer above the existing one and set your type and outline. Position it above the image and switch the outlined type to a stroke only. Use the Direct Select tool (open arrow) to move the anchorpoints of the letters using the image as a guide.

• 4. Re: Modify a font in illustrator
                JETalmage Level 6

Many times, I've provided identity design clients a "LogoFont" to contain spot graphics supportive of their identity marks. I either created from scratch or modified an existing font, depending on what made most sense for the given project.