7 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2017 11:12 AM by Paul Darky

How to keep the down state of a button?

liolee08 Level 1

I'm not too experienced with Flash... I'm using Flash CS5 on Windows 7.

I can't figure out how to make a button stay in its down state when it's clicked, and then go back to its up state when another button is clicked?

I'm using buttons, not movie clips.

Any help is welcomed!

Brigitte

• 1. Re: How to keep the down state of a button?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Look into the Properties of the SimpleButton class, and have a look  at the file I linked in this posting: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/676547?tstart=0

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to keep the down state of a button?
            liolee08 Level 1

I thought I could copy your AS from your file, but I realized that your buttons are identical, mine are not. And since I don't know anything about AS, I don't know how to modify it to work with my two different buttons.

I've never done AS - I only do simple tweens in Flash. But thank you for trying to help this inexperienced newbie.

Brigitte

• 3. Re: How to keep the down state of a button?
              Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

No. in most cases just copying code won't get you where you want to go, but a little time spent trying to understand it and trying things can usually work wonders and result in a feeling of accomplishment.

In that other posting, that person is trying to invent a new/fourth button state, so the hitTestState was used as a placeholder for defining that state's graphics.  The problem in that case was that all frames of the button are used up, so the upState gets lost when it assumes the disabled state, and some other resource is needed to reset it to be the up state graphics.  That other resource could just as easily be an object that gets assigned as the upState.