16 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2010 10:59 AM by the_wine_snob

NEWBIE - PE7 - Finalized video becomes pixalated in WM & QT - PLEASE HELP - working on project!

BizzieMom

Hi.  I’m new to this forum and have scoured this forum to see if there was a previous questions that dealt with my problem.  Although I didn’t find one, I was impressed with the knowledge of the answers and the desire to help those in trouble so that’s why I joined.  I need help!

I have been editing on PE7 for one year and have no problems before.  I do not make any changes to the settings as I am not an expert and do not understand what they mean or can do for my projects but I’ve never had a problem of any kind before so it wasn’t a problem.  Now I have a problem. 

I have two laptops that I use for editing.  One is a Toshiba (specs below) and the other is a Dell (specs below).  The Toshiba has a firewire input and the Dell doesn’t so when I edit on the Dell, I input on the Toshiba and movie it via flash drive or external hard drive to the Dell.  I’ve never had any problems before with this procedure.

I do not change any of the presets that are there as I do not know anything about them.  Everything was fine with both computers and I had no problem with PE7.  I put together a video that is about 4 ½  minutes long with footage that are imported into the Toshiba and then moved via external HD to the Dell.  I did the editing on the Dell.  It have numerous avi clips that I put together with mp3 music.  The video, music and all of the clips looked perfect even after rendering it.  When I finalized it and made it a windows media file and a quicktime movie, the video became pixilated in both formats.  I do not have any other programs open while editing.  It is pixilated in windows media player, quicktime player and when I play it in PE7 too.