8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2010 7:45 AM by P_Forrest

Is PE8 worth it?

PJVenuto

I am still using PE4 and have been for a long time.  While I am an amateur who makes home movies, I have recently started an an exercise video website for which I have some commercial/business aspirations.  I have been encoding the clips in WMV 1200k bit rate and they look pretty good, but I don't want all my videos to be in an old format.  I want to start using .MPEG 4 container with H.264 codec so I can upload to YouTube, and have some flexibility to play these videos on other devices (iPhone, etc.).

Can someone tell me if PE8 can do this?  Any other suggestions and ideas are welcome as well.

Thanks in advance.

Paul

www.theravids.com

• 1. Re: Is PE8 worth it?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Yes, Premiere Elements 8 can output an H.264 Mp4, Paul.

But if you're otherwise happy with version 4, I wouldn't update to version 8.

Instead, I'd spring $29 for Quicktime Pro from Apple.com. With it, you can take the DV-AVI output from Premiere Elements 4 and convert it to a number of formats, including H.264s. Not only is this a cheaper solution, but it's one that does not risk destabilizing your machine by updating to Premiere Elements 8. It may also do a better job of encoding your files, since Apple pretty much developed that video format!

You can then use the formula listed in the FAQs to the right of this forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/623549?tstart=0

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Is PE8 worth it?
            PJVenuto Level 1

Steve,

Thanks.  I was thinking about Quicktime Pro anyway, but I had heard some mixed reviews.  I am going to try it.  I will also try the other advice.  Thanks again.

Paul

• 3. Re: Is PE8 worth it?
              LevinLevin44

Steve,