8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 15, 2010 9:35 AM by the_wine_snob

PrElements 8 - loss of a/v sync

JeffPriest

Hi All,

I'm new to elements and am working my way through things. One thing I have noticed is that during the editing process, when previewing clips in the timeline, and especially after a transition, the audio and video falls out of sync and the video becomes choppy. What can I do to prevent this?

Here's my setup:

2x7200rpm HD - 1 for running elements, the other for cacheing and scratch disks

2gbs of ram

all additional processes shut down - I'm on a network, so I can't turn of my internet connection or virus scaning (Norton)

Intel Core 2Duo e8400 at 3ghz.

onboard video/sound card

XP Pro - latest service pack.

thanks for your help with this,

Jeff

• 1. Re: PrElements 8 - loss of a/v sync
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Jeff,

Welcome to the forum.

Can you please let us know all about your source footage, and your Project Preset. This ARTICLE will give you tips on the info that would be so helpful, and also how to gather some of it.

Also, can you go into some detail about the the Clips on the Timeline, and the Transitions used. Are these Clips Instances that you have done cuts on, or are they the full Clips from the camera, and you are joining them and then applying the Transition?

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: PrElements 8 - loss of a/v sync
            JeffPriest Level 1

Hi Bill,

thanks for the warm welcome and your questions.

Here's the rundown:

the clips are m2ts shot in HD with sony hdrrx500, 2ch audio on VT1, cut down to capture the required piece

the transitions are into and out of a jpeg image laid on VT2

the transistions used are: Cross disolve, with the alignment Center at Cut and some start/end at cut

According to g-spot, the codecs are:
            src a:MainConcept (Adobe2) MPEG Demultiplexer b:MainConcept (Adobe2) AVC/H.264 Video Decoder c: Video renderer