4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2010 2:46 PM by Bob Currier

After Effects for Color versus Color Finesse

richcampent

I am new to After Effects, coming from Final Cut Studio with extensive experience in Apple Color.

I was just looking for opinions on what everyone thought on the difference between coloring using After Effects plugins versus using Color Finesse.

Also, anyone use AE and Apple Color? Opinions?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: After Effects for Color versus Color Finesse
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

> I was just looking for opinions on what everyone thought on the difference between coloring using After Effects plugins versus using Color Finesse.

Color Finesse is an After Effects plug-in, so I'm not really sure what the question is.

In case you weren't aware, I'll point you to this page, which has links to various resources about Color Finesse:

"Resources for Synthetic Aperture Color Finesse"

• 2. Re: After Effects for Color versus Color Finesse
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I've only used Apple's Color twice when I had no other choice (on my MacBook while off site), so I can't exactly compare. On the other hand, I'm using AE's native tools, Color Finesse and Magic Bullet Colorista all the time. I guess in the end it won't make much of a difference, even more so now in CS5 where Color Finesse has more controls in the main effects panel, which allows it to replace Colorista on some level. anyway, too much a case of personal preference and what kind of work you do. i certainly wouldn't transfer lengthy FCP sequences to AE just to color correct them. All my AE stuff is "just there", because I'm working on it and it needs otehr treratments as well, anyway.

Mylenium

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: After Effects for Color versus Color Finesse
              richcampent Level 1