25 Replies Latest reply on Aug 18, 2010 1:55 PM by able123

Dream Computer Builds

DigitalTechnician

My company is having me build a new workstation for CS5 with the emphasis on After Effects and Premier.

The boss isn't worried about the budget but he does want to future proof it as much as possible.  And we would like to have

two sets (arrays) of drives for editing the video.  I have very little experience in this area. Can you help me?

• 1. Re: Dream Computer Builds
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Build or buy? Budget? $ 5 K, 10 K, 25 K? Rack or stand alone? Networked? NAS or SAN? Material, both source and output? Ingest method? Storage requirements?

• 2. Re: Dream Computer Builds
            Studio North Films Level 3

these threads make me laugh a little.

go for a evga sr2 with the latest x5680,

baz

• 3. Re: Dream Computer Builds
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Not necessarily Baz. We have found that dual X56xx systems are top-of-the-bill for MPEG encoding because of the number of cores and amount of memory, but lack in H.264 encoding, due to the latency introduced by the dual processor setup.

• 4. Re: Dream Computer Builds

Harm

there is also mpeg alternatives rather than using h264/bluray. And if the premiere exporter was used rather than ame, the gpu should have a performance advantage.

Baz

• 5. Re: Dream Computer Builds
                  Harm Millaard Level 7

Baz,

The direct Export button in PR when exporting to MPEG takes about 2 -3 times as long as AME.

• 6. Re: Dream Computer Builds

Harm

that is strange ???

I now work with XDCAM EX footage, And when I export to mpeg 2 dvd or mpeg bluray, I find that the direct exporter is mutch faster.

I exported a recent 1 hour 30 min project to pal SD maxium render ON, vb2. and took aprox 20 mins. (will confirm this tommorow). with ame it was going to take over 1 hour.

Regards

Baz

• 7. Re: Dream Computer Builds
                      Harm Millaard Level 7

Baz,