9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2010 7:57 AM by the_wine_snob

importing vs media browser

richcampent

I am new to Premiere from FCP

I noticed that Premiere lets you either import files but there is also "Media Browser" which lets you search your hard drive and use footage directly from it. I was wondering if there was a difference between using video files and audio from Media Browser instead of importing it? This would let me keep my folders organized and use directly from there... Thanks!

• 1. Re: importing vs media browser
          Colin Brougham Level 6

When you use a piece of media that you've selected via the Media Browser, it is automatically imported into your project. You can double-click to load the clip from the MB into the Source Monitor, and from there, either drop it in a bin, or drop it in a sequence. You can also drag right from the MB to a sequence or to the Project panel/bin--though oddly, you can't drag from the MB to the Source Monitor

No matter what, the end result is that your footage is imported and becomes part of your project.

• 2. Re: importing vs media browser
            shooternz Level 6

Just a note....and I am sure you both know this...

The footage is not actually imported. 

A reference to the location of the footage is placed in the Project.

• 3. Re: importing vs media browser
              Colin Brougham Level 6

True, true--important point. However, I was speaking in an FCP-idiomatic fashion, where you can have footage in use in a project, without it actually being imported (i.e. "part of") into that project! It's all very confusing. I'm assuming the OP is aware of this, hence the nature of his question.

The good news is that Premiere makes it much easier to track your imported materials than FCP.

• 4. Re: importing vs media browser
                shooternz Level 6
                I was speaking in an FCP-idiomatic fashion