8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2007 11:38 AM by Rothrock

Help with Event listeners

_pixel_chick
      Flash CS3, actionscript 2.0

I have a timeline animation that I am trying to convert to actionscript. Basically there are 8 movie clips that I have added to the timeline that fade in at different times. I have the code for each of the tweens figured out (var laugh:Tween = new Tween(laugh_mc, "_alpha", Strong.easeIn, 0, 100, 17, false) but I need one to start one, then when its finished, go to the next one without using go to and play. I'm a bit of a newbie to actionscript so if someone could provide an example, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Help with Event listeners
          Level 7
          Hi Pixel Chick,

I haven't fully tested this but I believe you will want something like
          this:

laugh.addEventListener(TweenEvent.MOTION_FINISH ,this.onLaughDone);

...define a function named "onLaughDone" that will receive a
          "TweenEvent" type object as a parameter. You'll also need to add
          "import fl.transitions.TweenEvent;" to your class header.

Each new tween object you create afterwards will need its own listener,
          bound in the same way. For example, if you created a variable
          named "laugh2:Tween = new Tween...":

laugh2.addEventListener(TweenEvent.MOTION_FINISH ,this.onLaughDone);

...this points to the same function but you can point it to a completely
          different one.

Hope this helps,
          Patrick

_pixel_chick wrote:
          > Flash CS3, actionscript 2.0
          >
          > I have a timeline animation that I am trying to convert to actionscript.
          > Basically there are 8 movie clips that I have added to the timeline that fade
          > in at different times. I have the code for each of the tweens figured out (var
          > laugh:Tween = new Tween(laugh_mc, "_alpha", Strong.easeIn, 0, 100, 17, false)