4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2010 6:33 AM by ozDiGennaro

How do I build a Scroller in Actionscript?

ozDiGennaro Level 1

I need to build a Scroller / Group / RichEditableText set of components using only Actionscript, since I need to create (perhaps) many of these, skinned on-the-fly as a result of download from the server.

Can anyone provide a working example?  I can see how to do it using MXML, but I'm a programmer at heart...  Only actionscript?  I've tried but I'm having trouble getting the pieces to play together (scroll bars, mouse wheel, etc.)

Or is there a way to create multiple instances of a set of components defined in MXML?  That might do it too.

Thanks.

Oz

• 1. Re: How do I build a Scroller in Actionscript?
          rootsounds Level 4

I'm not clear on what you are trying to accomplish. Could you perhaps provide an illustration?

• 2. Re: How do I build a Scroller in Actionscript?
            ozDiGennaro Level 1

I have a very dynamic application:  the windows and components come and go, and I don't know in advance how many there will be, what the styles will be, etc.

So I want to create all components with Actionscript classes.

This is the MXML code that creates what I want.. This works fine, scrolls, mouse-wheel, all controls are effective.

<s:Scroller id="myScrollerA" width="300" height="100">
                <s:Group id="myGroupA">
                    <s:RichEditableText id="myTextA" paddingTop="20">
                        <s:textFlow>
                            <s:TextFlow>
                                <s:p fontWeight="bold">This is paragraph 1.</s:p>
                                <s:p>This is paragraph 2.</s:p>
                                <s:p>This is paragraph another.</s:p>
                                ... more code here with more text
                                </s:TextFlow>
                        </s:textFlow>
                    </s:RichEditableText>
                </s:Group>
            </s:Scroller>