9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2007 3:49 PM by ntsiii

Experienced web developers

DanBTN
      I've made it a goal of mine to be able to program with Flex. There's a little bit of a problem though. While I have a ton of drive and desire to get this done.................... I have very little to no experience except for some experience with visual basic and some earlier experience with FrontPage.

For those of you who haven't clicked away, I realize that I may be in over my head on this but I'm going to do it one way or another. But where to start and which path to take to get there is the hard part to figure out. I would really appreciate it if any of you could give me some direction that I should take to get to that goal. Eg. Should I start by reading materials on Flash CS3? Or Action Script? Or Flex or ............ go back and learn HTML and XML first? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
      Dan
        • 1. Re: Experienced web developers
          rotoole Level 1
          http://www.amazon.com/Adobe-Flex-2-Training-Source/dp/032142316X/ref=pd_bbs_sr_3/105-24891 18-4527665?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1186159695&sr=8-3

this will get you off on the right foot, but it is definitely going to be overwhelming. with learning flex, you're not just learning mxml(flex). you are learning object oriented programming, mxml, actionscript 3.0, xml, and whatever you want to use for your data services(php, coldfusion, jsp, etc.). coming from a java background it took me about a month of sitting down reading and playing around to feel somewhat comfortable in the world of flex. the internet is your friend. theres a lot of answers out there, good luck
          • 2. Re: Experienced web developers
            Level 7
            While I started with a bit more relevant web application development
            experience in HTML, JS, CFML, XML ect then you, I found the 10 tutorial
            exercises in the "Getting Started with Flex 2" to be very helpful. Then