4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 24, 2010 12:14 AM by cosligo

Will my system be enough for CS5?

cosligo

I've been searching the forums for this answer and didn't find anything definite, so my appologies if I'm repeating an old question.

I am considering buying the Master Collection soon (I'm a student and want to get it on discount before I finish college) and I was looking at the system specifications. I notice the NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250 isn't mentioned anywhere when it comes to Premire CS5. I also couldn't find much info on my sound card.

I'm running dual GTS 250's (512mb), Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro sound card, 6GB RAM, 7200 rpm/500GB HD, Intel Pentium i7 2.66Ghz processor on a ASUS P6T Deluxe motherboard. The only thing that doesn't sound like it has much support for Premire CS5 is my graphics cards. Will my system be able to handle Premire?

That's a hell of a lot of money for me, so if anyone has some experience with a similar system set-up or has any info that can help me out, I would very much appreciate it.

• 1. Re: Will my system be enough for CS5?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

How do you have your dual vid-cards configured? That might actually cause some issues. What other uses do you intend for this computer to be put to?

For general recs. and especially for CUDA/MPE, I'd stop by the Hardware Forum, and read all of Harm Millaard's articles. He covers every aspect of an NLE workstation in great detail. Lot of excellent advice there.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Will my system be enough for CS5?
            Bill Gehrke Most Valuable Participant

Welcome aboard the forum.