9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2010 4:45 AM by Tanya Heins-2I5OoU

Timing the start of a video

impactvideo

I am new to FC but am having some frustration.

What I am trying to do is simple.  I have imported a SWF that lasts about 4-5 seconds.  I wish to then have a video screen appear and play the video.  I cannot figure out how to accomplish this.

I imported the SWFfile and the video file to the first state.  When run, the SWF and the video commence simultaneously as predicted.  I then duplicated the state, but no transition controls were available.

I tried to delete the video player from the first state so that the transition essentially results in the addition of the video player.. This did result in a "Video Player" bar in the timeline with a Fade In control.  I then moved the fade control to the 5 second mark and stretched the fade control to last about 1 second, I thought this would work. However, when I ran the project, the video did not play at all. The "Autoplay" box is checked in the Video Player properties panel.

I am now at a standstill.  All help is greatly appreciated.

Jeff in Palmetto, FL

PS: I must compliment Adobe for allowing direct imporation of a SWF into  FC.  I have been very frustated with Flash since this does not appear to be possible. Great job Adobe for giving FC this functionality. Now if I can just get he video timing figured out!

Message was edited by: impactvideo

• 1. Re: Timing the start of a video
          Tanya Heins-2I5OoU Level 3

Hi Jeff,

Sounds like you are on the right track with the SWF in State 1 and FLV in State 2.  Do you want the transition to happen automatically or will there be user interaction?

If you want a user to interact (click a button) to go to the next state you will need to pull a button component into the workspace and attach an interaction to it (On Click go to State 2)  Then set your FLV to start playing automatically.