10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2011 4:58 AM by Peter Celuch

Memory build-up in InDesign: how to free memory?

Peter Celuch Level 4

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to InDesign extendscript and quickly ran into a problem I can't solve for days.

I'm working on flash panel (build with adobe extension builder) that among other things automatically exports page thumbnails, adds some data and so on.. while processing pages (real magazine with lots of content), the memory raises up to 1.5GB and InDesign crashes. When I try less pages and not crash InDesign, even after export script has completed, InDesign still uses some 1GB of memory.

To initialy get page thumbnails, I use built-in function Document.fileExport (Menu -> Export (as JPEG)).

The tricky part I absolutely don't understand is, that if I call it with options window (Document.fileExport: showingOptions = true), the memory instantly drops to about 10MB. So I "worked around" this issue by exporting pages in bursts (10 pages at time) and showing options for export of next 10 pages. This way memory builds up for 10 pages, then drops and builds up again. But never up to 1.5GB to crash InDesign.

As you can guess, this workaround is real pain in the arse, because export is no longer automated and needs operator / monkey to push button every 5 minutes or so preventing InDesign crashing. (reminds me of TV series LOST )

I tried calling $.gc() but absolutely nothing happened. Even when I created dedicated button with single purpose: call $.gc() and kept pushing it for 10 minutes after export was finished - nothing happened, memory was still up high.

• 1. Re: Memory build-up in InDesign: how to free memory?
          Peter Celuch Level 4