6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2007 11:48 AM by ab1301

Buggy Scroll Buttons in slideshow app

ab1301
      I have no prior programming experience, and I am trying to build a slideshow program for my site. I am simultaneously amazed at how easy it is to do things I think are complex in Flex, and frustrated at how difficult it is to do some things I think should be simple or even built in. Most of my problems I have been able to figure out from looking at examples of code similar to what I want, but I haven't been able to figure out how to make buttons to control my list of thumbnails.

I have a set of thumbnails loaded from a Flickr photoset in an itemRenderer in a horizontalList, and I want to use buttons to scroll through the list and to select different items in a slideshow. On their own, the buttons work fine, but when I scroll to the end using the fast scroll buttons, then select an item with the cursor, the item selector buttons no longer work right--they start skipping items in a weird way. I have attached the code I'm using for the scroll and item selector functions. I have looked everywhere for a solution, and tried many different ways of doing this, but I am stuck.

So my main question is:

(1) what do I have to do to stop the buggy behaivor? Please keep in mind that I have 0 programming experience, so please try to keep your explanation as detailed and explicit as possible.

My other less pressing questions are:
      (2) What do I use so that I do not have to type in the total number of items in the list? EDIT--I solved this one myself, by using maxHorizontalScrollPosition. duh.;

(3) is there an easy way to either have the list scroll when the selector buttons select an item off screen, or have the item selected item always be in the center of the screen? EDIT -- I solved this one too using scrollToIndex(photoList.SelectedIndex), after the showNext() or showPrevious() functions. It doesn't work exactly the way I want, but close enough.