8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2010 9:46 AM by Christopher Duncan

CS4: Best import format from Premiere Pro?

Christopher Duncan Level 2

Hey, guys.

I have a Premiere Pro project that's dead in the water because I can't render it - crashes PProHeadless if I include the video track with titles from the Titler. Without the titles track it renders fine, but of course that's not the final product that I need.

Consequently, Plan B is to render my edited footage from Premiere, import it into After Effects, do the titles and such that I need, and render the final output video from After Effects. Along those lines, I have a couple of questions.

I'm fairly new to all this. Is it a "normal" workflow to use PPro for just the edits and then simply import the rendered results of the project into AE, generating the final output of the entire movie from AE rather than PPro? If that's a strange way of doing things, I'd greatly value your insights on a better workflow.

With that in mind, my PPro footage is AVCHD and I'd like to preserve that quality coming into After Effects. When I render from Premiere, what's the best format / settings to use so that when I import into AE I've got the best quality footage to work with and can thus output to HD formats?

Obviously, you can do much cooler stuff in AE than PPro. I was using the PPro titler because it's a simple project and using the existing PPro title templates seemed the be the most productive method of getting it done rather than fiddling around for days in AE (which would of course be much more fun). However, if the titler in PPro is that fragile, I'd just as soon learn a new workflow so I can get the job done.

Thanks,

Chris

• 1. Re: CS4: Best import format from Premiere Pro?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant