3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2010 3:58 AM by www.marcelvanduijn.com

Changes in RSL or merged-into-code SWC not updated when running or debugging a Flex project?

www.marcelvanduijn.com Level 1

Hi,

Im kind of new to using Flex. Can anyone tell me if its normal that SWC's either linked as RSL or merged-into-code dont update when you make changes to the SWC's? I have 'Build Automatically' checked under 'Project'. When I run or debug my project the updates arent

• 1. Re: Changes in RSL or merged-into-code SWC not updated when running or debugging a Flex project?

Sorry, submitted the post by accident. I wasnt ready typing yet.

Im using separate SWC's as asset library and for custom components, linked either as RSL or merged-into-code. But Flex's updating behavior when I made changes to the SWC's is knd of weird. It seems to use some kind of caching or something. Additions to the SWC's are taken into account when I run or debug the main project, but when I remove say an asset from the asset library it is still present and I can use it my code. I have 'Build Automatically' checked under 'Project'.

Example of what happens: say I have an asset library with a 'Circle' asset. The asset library is linked as RSL

1. I use the Circle as background of WindowedApplication: backgroundImage="{Circle}" --> works fine

2. I add a 'Rect' asset to the asset library. Then use Rect as background:  backgroundImage="{Rect}" --> works fine. The RSL is updated

3. I remove 'Rect' from the asset library (and publish the SWC) but leave backgroundImage="{Rect}" in my code --> now the RSL is not updated when I run or debug my project! I can still use the Rect class while it isnt in the asset library anymore (nor anywhere else). This isnt supposed to happen right?

4. Now when I set the background image to Circle again: backgroundImage="{Circle}" --> this works fine, as the Circle class is in the asset library