10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 26, 2014 5:01 AM by SirRookie

How do I underline text in Flash?

cre8tor10 Level 1

There doesn't seem to be any clearcut instructions on how to underline text in Flash.  I did a search and there seems to be many solutions by adding code, etc.  I tried using the Line Tool to underline some text and it shows up fine on the stage but when I preview it, the line does not show up.  Any idea why?

Is there a simple solution on how to underline text for someone new to Flash?

• 1. Re: How do I underline text in Flash?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

use htmlText and the u tags:

yourTF.htmlText = "<u>underlined text</u>";

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do I underline text in Flash?
            cre8tor10 Level 1

Thanks, I've heard of this before.  I'm new to Flash so can you tell me exactly where I enter these tags?

• 3. Re: How do I underline text in Flash?
              Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you are working with a static textfield, drawing a line as you did should work.  So you may want to keep trying to see if you can figure out why it isn't appearing.

• 4. Re: How do I underline text in Flash?

that's it.

create an html-enabled textfield, give it an instance name (eg, yourTF) and in the actions panel use:

yourTF.htmlText = "<u>underlined text</u>";

• 5. Re: How do I underline text in Flash?
                  cre8tor10 Level 1

Ok I finally saw it, but that text doesn't correspond to the text that I originally typed in the text field.  I guess the code will override whatever you type on the stage, eh?  I might as well just delete what's on the stage and just use the code.