14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2010 12:54 AM by Christian3D

Flex 4 skinning workflow

cosmits Level 1

Hi all

I'm a flex developer looking for the shortest workflow to use skins in flex

let's take a Button Component for example - in flex 3 i worked with upSkin DownSkin ect' pointing to Movieclips in a flash library swf

it was very convenient, despite the fact i wasn't able to version control it....

now came Flex 4, and by Adobe's Guidlines I'm encouraged to use sparkSkin skins to skin my components - the button....

so i learned the many benefits of version-controling it, the otion to load skins at runtime ect... and it is very slik

but remember - i'm after the shortest workflow....

within the sparkskin file i'm suppose to have the code which describes the graphics of the component

now, i'm sure it was no one's intent that this bit will be done by hand right?

so what options do i have to generate sparkSkin files from my designer's vector graphics either in Illustrator or Flash?

i can export FXG files - but then i'll need again to adjust them by hand to fit in the sparkSkin architechture right?

not short.... not short at all....

so here comes Flash Catalyst as the solution option, which can take files from illustrator and turn them into skins

and it claims to have this seemless workflow i'm after...

so I give it a few tries and come up with the following:

as a skin generator per-se - it's quite nice, though the workflow is still too long because i have to import my AI files, switch to code view

then copy paste the skins it's generating to my Flex project, and if i make adjustments to it in flex, i can't go back to catalyst, i've broken the flow...

so I know many of you think by now - this is not the way you're suppose to use catalyst, you're suppose to create your project in catalyst then take the whole project to flash builder and continue from there....