13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2010 11:17 AM by kglad

Passing values from swf to html or javascript

irockska

Hello everyone.

I am new to flash , i have developed a flash website, just user interface, now i have a contact form in my swf file . can anyone help me in embedding this swf file in html and getting values out of swf file on html page and printing on another html page, i just need help in getting values and out of swf file to html.

thanks and regards

• 1. Re: Passing values from swf to html or javascript
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you can communicate between flash and javascript using the externalinterface class but i'm not sure that's going to help you.

when you have flash publish your swf and html pages, you can see the code needed to embed your swf in html.  are you having a problem embedding your swf in html?

your users will enter data in a swf form and that data needs to be shared with another html file, correct?  how's that other html file loaded into your browser?  a flash link using getURL or navigateToURL or some other way?

• 2. Re: Passing values from swf to html or javascript
            irockska Level 1

hi Kglad

Thanks a lot for quick reply,

I am sorry i think i was not clear in my first post,

let me explain what i have done and what i have to do.

I am doing a project using jsp and ejb.

i have built a contact for which uses "name", "email" and "user's msg " . and in this form i have a button.

when i publish this page, as you said i got html and swf file, but i dont want html, i want ot embed swf file into jsp page and when it is deployed and after entering data into that contact form, when user presses enter i want the text in those fields to be fetched by my jps page and display in some another swf file which has  a dynamic text filed on which i have to display request number after getting these value.