8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2010 10:19 PM by talbot

How do I edit the text movement/location in a fla file?

talbot Level 1

I'm building a site that was bought from a template house that has a flash piece in the header. I have Win CS4 and have been able to swap out the images and replace the text but I am having a hard time finding where I can edit where/how the text aligns/ends up. Here's the test location: FertilityTestSite

Originally there was text of varying lengths that slides in below each image aligning right to the play/stop button. I tried to get them to give me text of a similar length but they just want the phone number. So now the phone number slides in but because the original text was longer (except for the one that had a ph#) they stop at different locations where the original 1st character came allowing to align right.

So my question is how/where do I edit this action? Would this be [in] the ActionScript? I am a complete noob and have only gotten to where I am through trial and error. I was able to find and replace the text in Essentials workspace and I was able to swap images (update) by right clicking them in the library view and I see a text export in there too that I have a high suspicion is what I need to edit but don't know how to access it. Or maybe there's another way and my suspicion is wrong.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: How do I edit the text movement/location in a fla file?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are numerous ways things can be controlled when it comes to animating them, there's no telling how the designer might have approached the design with seeing the file.