6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2010 9:06 AM by llaferte

New to Adobe After Effects (CS4)

llaferte Level 1

I'm relatively new to AE and have a very basic question:  Can After Effects import and work with long files - 1+ hours or more?

I have always thought of AE as a tool for small clips less than 10min. but I'm new to this and really do not know.

I am working on a research project with Harvard University and the University of Michigan.  They are studying educational practices in classrooms around the country.  These "observations" are conducted remotely using a Web Interfaced Camera.  The files I am being given are lower quality ASF files. 

In some cases the identity of certain students must be masked - I can do this work in Premiere Pro.  In other cases the entire video needs an "identity concealing" treatment - these are the files I'm hoping to edit within AE.  I'm looking at using Toonit's Rotoscoping filter for this.  When I use Toonit in PPro it is a very slow (many hours) process.

Also, any advise on working with ASF files would be very helpful.

• 1. Re: New to Adobe After Effects (CS4)
          llaferte Level 1

I forgot to mention the file details:

352 x 240 (1.0)

7980+01, 30.00 fps

8000 Hz - 16-bit - Mono

I do not know what all of this means like "7980+01" - not a clue.

• 2. Re: New to Adobe After Effects (CS4)
            Todd_Kopriva Level 8

> I'm relatively new to AE and have a very basic question:  Can After Effects import and work with long files - 1+ hours or more?

Yes.

>  I'm looking at using Toonit's Rotoscoping filter for this.

Why? This is very basic work that can be done in After Effects with no additional software.