3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 10, 2010 1:03 PM by Scott Chichelli

VelociRaptor or not?

Spoot51 Level 1

Am upgrading to CS5. Working with a custom shop to configure system for HDV editing and BD/DVD authoring for son's high school teams and family'n'friends. Do less than 10 1-1.5 hr projects per year. My day job is trading stocks and options -lots of charts and huge inflow of realtime data.

Salesman suggests Western Digital 150GB (WD1500HLFS) VelociRaptor and 3 WesternDigital 750GB RE3 (WD7502ABYS) in NO RAID array.

Must confess I am confused despite reading all the fine stuff our top "gurus" post here. He's also pushing i7-960 instead of OC an i7-920, 12gb DDR1600Mhz RAM.

Is 150GB for a C: Drive large enough and is it cost effective vs. a regular HD? What's the opinion on the WD 750 GB RE3? Maybe I don't really need 3 of them.

Thanking in advance - you guys here are providing many of a real service!!

• 1. Re: VelociRaptor or not?
          Scott Chichelli Level 3

i would suggest you find a new custom shop!

unless you are a hobbiest then stay away from the 700/800 series

those wd drives only have 32meg cache rather than 64meg...

Raptor as an OS is fairly pointless if you want a real difference go SSD (and it needs to be a good one)

or stick with standard 7200 OS drive.

Scott

ADK

• 2. Re: VelociRaptor or not?
            ECBowen Most Valuable Participant

The I7 960 is really not worth the extra money. I would either go with a I7 930 stock or overclocked or an I7 970 6 core if you have the budget. The CPU's in between are really not worth the money considering what you can clock most 930's to these days.