8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2010 8:40 AM by the_wine_snob

Constant Crashing In premiere elements 8

Jonnytrekkie93

Hi I have been using premiere now for almost 5 months, I have tried everything but this got me nowhere. I love the suite except it keeps crashing, some times it will last 15 minutes then crash other times only a couple of minutes. It is really annoying whilsttrying to work. My pc passes the requierements by adobe and i am only editing dv quality.

My pc spec is:

Acer t180

Cpu- Amd 3600+ x2 1.9ghz

Gpu- On board graphics nvidia 6100 n405

Ram- 2gb (2x 1024) at 800 mhz

HDD- 160gb sata 2 + 320 gb sata 2

OS- Windows Vista home basic

If there is anything that needs updating please tell me and I shall update it. I have already installed all driver updates, including the new premiere one. I just wanna get this problem fixed.

• 1. Re: Constant Crashing In premiere elements 8
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Assuming you've downloaded the 8.01 patch for the program, the chief cause for problems with this program is related to the source video. What type of camcorder did your video come from and how did you get it into your computer? Which Premiere Elements project preset are you using?

Is there a red line above your clips on your timeline? If so, do you regularly render your video (pressing the Enter key) so that this red line turns green?

Have you gone to the ATI or nVidia web sites and downloaded the latest driver for your video card?

Do you have the latest version of Quicktime?

Is your second hard drive formatted NTFS rather than FAT32?

• 2. Re: Constant Crashing In premiere elements 8
            the_wine_snob Level 9