11 Replies Latest reply on Aug 11, 2010 8:15 PM by Jeff Barnett

Detecting changes in video

Jeff Barnett

Greetings all. I'm new to video editing and Premiere.

Is anyone aware of a plug-in or software that can detect changes in video? I have been setting up my camera to shoot lightning vids, then walking away for minutes at a time. Needless to say, the flashes can be as short as a couple of frames, and locating these extremely short sections of clips can be very time consuming when visually searching frame-by-frame.

I would think there would be a need for something like this for not only my situation, but for nature video or surveillance. The ideal app would locate changes in the scene and mark or log the locations.

Thanks for any advice.

Jeff Barnett

• 1. Re: Detecting changes in video
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

There's a great free plug-in for After Effects that detects scene changes:

http://aescripts.com/magnum-the-edit-detector/

It might do what you're looking for.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Detecting changes in video
            Colin Brougham Level 6

What you're looking for is what is typically called "optical scene detection." Premiere doesn't do that (I don't know of any NLE that does, but I could be wrong), and it only does scene detection based on time-of-day (TOD) data written onto a DV tape--and that's only on capture.