5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 17, 2010 8:46 AM by the_wine_snob

Split Audio

dizzy8888

Hi!  HELP!!!  I recorded some video last week - using a camera mic on Ch2, and a lapel mic on Ch1. This was exported to quicktime files for me to import to Elements 8.0.

I've already done a vast amount of editing - but stupidly didn't notice that the audio is all on Audio 1, already mixed!!!!  Meaning i've got lots of ambient noise I don't want, or at least want to knock back a bit.

I'm a newbie to Elements - is there ANY way, I can split the channels on to separate audio tracks?  If not, in future is it possible to import the channels separately?

• 1. Re: Split Audio
          nealeh Level 5

No, you cannot split the audio if it has been imported from QuickTime files onto a single track. For the future yes you can add different audio tracks to your project assets and drag them to whichever audio tracks you want.

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: Split Audio
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Removing ambient noise is iffy, at best, but this ARTICLE might offer some tips.

As Neale states, once mixed and Exported, your Audio cannot be later split (at least not without a great deal of work, and a lot of luck).

Can you possibly go back to the original source material, and start this part over? All you need to do is rip/extract/Import the original Audio streams, and then address them separately.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Split Audio
              dizzy8888 Level 1

Hi. Thanks for those answers.

So, I exported the camera mic as a separate .WAV file - and dragged it on to the narration channel.  It's about half a frame out from the mixed audio that is with the video.  Obviously I can only shunt the audio 1 frame in either direction, but not the half a frame or so I need to move it to marry it up. Any ideas?

• 4. Re: Split Audio
                nealeh Level 5