13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2010 7:15 PM by the_wine_snob

Adding title to movie - Premiere elements 8

missamr Level 1

Hi

i am trying to add a title to a movie i am creating.  however i want the title to be just black with white writing but when i add a title it applies to the first clip and its not its own separate "scene".  Yes i am new to elements and movie making and need all the help i can get.  Can someone please help?

Thanks

Amanda

• 1. Re: Adding title to movie - Premiere elements 8
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Amanda,

If you want the "background" to be black, and not Transparent, then you need to first create a Shape, in the size and location needed, and set its color to black. When done, add your text, in a contrasting color.

If you just do the plain Title, it will create a Transparent background (though it appears as black in Titler), and that is what you have, but not what you want.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Adding title to movie - Premiere elements 8
            missamr Level 1

my hero... thanks so much!!

how do i slow the clip down?

• 3. Re: Adding title to movie - Premiere elements 8
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Now, one little "tip," though you did not ask for this - if you also wanted to add a Stroke to that Shape, just choose a Style (from the Style Library) that has a Stroke, and then modify that to suit.

I assumed that you wanted ONLY a black Shape, but this can come in handy later on.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: Adding title to movie - Premiere elements 8
                Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What are you trying to slow down? The roll of a rolling title or the playback speed of a clip?

If you're brand new to the program, have a look at my free Basic Training with Premiere Elements tutorials at Premiere Elements support site http://Muvipix.com. And, of course, if you want more details, you might want to look into my books, available on Amazon and at the Muvipix book store.