3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2010 4:37 AM by Ned Murphy

Flash button - linking

Ash_2788

Hey, Firstly Im a total noob to flash. I created a button but cant link it a URL. The button does an action and makes a sound when the mouse cursor is over it and then does the same action but in the opposite direction when the cursor is taken off and the button returns to its original state. However when I add:                                                                                                                                                                                                                         on(release)
      {
      getURL("http://www.google.co.uk", "_blank");
      }                                                                                                                                                                                                                              
      to get the button to go to a URL it just plays the action and sound over in a continuous loop. The code I have for the button to get it to do what I want is:                                                                                                                                                                                                               // Btn2 Over function
      function btn2Over(event:MouseEvent):void {
      btn2.gotoAndPlay("over"); // go into btn2 movieclip and play the over frame label
      }
      // Btn2 Out function
      function btn2Out(event:MouseEvent):void {
      btn2.gotoAndPlay("out");     // go into btn2 movieclip and play the out frame label
      }
      // Btn2 Down function
      function btn2Down(event:MouseEvent):void {
      //this.gotoAndPlay("myLabel"); // play any frame label in any movieclip
      }

// Btn2 listeners
      btn2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.ROLL_OVER, btn2Over);
      btn2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.ROLL_OUT, btn2Out);
      btn2.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, btn2Down);