2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2010 9:55 PM by rockwellproductions

A few questions from a beginner

rockwellproductions

I am new to adobe after effects but I have taken the time to get familiar with the basics. I have a few questions pertaining to a project I am working on.

First, I am trying to isolate a certain region in my raw video and make it into it's own layer so that I can use it as my foreground. I have other assets that I am trying to make pass behind the fg and have it go out of view as expected. I used the rotobrush to highlight the feature, perhaps to cut/paste into a new layer but with no success but maybe I am going about it the wrong way. Also, after I highlighted the region and played my video back, only the highlighted region was visible the rest is black.

Second, I am trying to animate simple expressions and place them on inanimate objects to personify them. The animation does not need to be complex. I also need those animations to move seamlessly as the camera does. I am familiar with creating and manipulating tracks frame by frame. Still, I am not sure what the best way to accomplish that is.

Finally, this might be a bit more complex but I want to have those faces rotate around the object. For example a 2d face on a 3d cylinder and as the cylinder rotates so does the 2d face convincingly.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: A few questions from a beginner
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

> First, I am trying to isolate a certain region in my raw video and make
          it into it's own layer so that I can use it as my foreground. I have
          other assets that I am trying to make pass behind the fg and have it go
          out of view as expected. I used the rotobrush to highlight the feature,
          perhaps to cut/paste into a new layer but with no success but maybe I am
          going about it the wrong way. Also, after I highlighted the region and
          played my video back, only the highlighted region was visible the rest